Intermediate

Michelle Valberg

Glossary

BIO:

Michelle Valberg is a globally recognized and celebrated photographer, whose quest to capture the beautiful and unique on camera has taken her to all corners of the world. Michelle’s stunning, and at times, haunting photographs are highly sought after by art collectors globally, and have been showcased in various exhibits across North America. In 2011, Michelle’s work was the subject of a critically acclaimed three-month solo exhibition at the esteemed Canadian Museum of Nature. Currently, Michelle has her largest permanent exhibition at The Ottawa Hospital, which includes more than 70 of her photographs.

Regularly featured in publications across North America and Europe, Michelle’s images have been included in National Geographic, The London Tribune, Condé Nast, More Magazine, Canadian Geographic and In Style.

A tireless philanthropist, Michelle founded Project North in 2009, a not-for-profit organization committed to delivering education and sport-based opportunities to youth in Canada’s Arctic. Since its inception, more than $400,000 worth of hockey equipment has been delivered to over 14 Nunavut communities. Michelle has also demonstrated her strong leadership capabilities through Director roles for several committees and organizations, including The United Way Ottawa, the Élisabeth Bruyère Foundation Board, the Telus Community Foundation Board, the Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario Foundation Board, the Algonquin College Foundation Board, and the Ottawa Regional Cancer Centre. She also sits on the Youth Services Bureau Charitable Foundation Board and is a Fellow with the Royal Canadian Geographic Society. Committed to strengthening the community, Michelle has also spent countless hours volunteering with The St. Joe's Women's Shelter, Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario and The Ottawa Hospital.

As the founder of Valberg Imaging, a premier photography studio and gallery in operation for more than 26 years, she has received numerous accolades and awards over the years, recognizing her business acumen and commitment to the community, including the YMCA/YWCA Women of Distinction Award in the Arts category (2000), Ottawa's Businesswoman of the Year (2003), one of Ottawa's Top 40 Under 40 (2004), The United Way Ottawa Community Builder award and CHEO's Order of the Good Bear. She is also a two time Premier's Award Nominee, The Prime Minister's Volunteer Award nominee, and has won numerous Canadian Geographic Wildlife awards and most recently, a bronze medal in the Global Arctic awards.

Committed to mentoring entrepreneurs and fellow photographers, Michelle has remained involved with her alma mater, Algonquin College, where she holds the inaugural "Hall of Fame" induction for photography in the School of Media & Design. She was also named "Alumna of the Year" in 2005 by the college.  

Michelle has self-published three books: Look Beyond... The Faces & Stories of People with HIV/AIDS, Dare to Dream... A Celebration of Canadian Women and most recently, a children’s book about Canada’s North, titled Ben and Nuki Discover Polar Bears. Her third book, Arctic Kaleidoscope... The People, Wildlife and Ever-Changing Landscape was released on Earth Day, April 22, 2013.

Simple beauty is a deeper reflection of humanity, as an artist, it has been my goal for the past 25 years to capture that notion in photographs. It is one that I have pursued by maintaining the purity and integrity of the subject, while focusing on the soul and the spirit—no matter what subject.

To see more of Michelle's work, visit her website at www.michellevalberg.com.

Check her out on Twitter.

This Article Goes Great With These Products

Michelle Valberg

Glossaire

BIO :

Michelle Valberg est une photographe professionnelle reconnue à l’échelle mondiale. Sa volonté de capturer à l’image la beauté et l’unicité l’a conduite aux quatre coins du monde. Les superbes, et parfois obsédantes, images de Michelle sont très recherchées par les collectionneurs d’art du monde entier, et ont été exposées dans diverses expositions dans toute l’Amérique du Nord. En 2011, le travail de Michelle a fait l’objet d’une exposition solo saluée par la critique et organisée au prestigieux Musée canadien de la nature. Michelle possède actuellement la plus grande exposition permanente de l’Hôpital d’Ottawa, qui comprend plus de 70 de ses photographies.

Régulièrement publiées dans des revues en Amérique du Nord et en Europe, les images de Michelle ont été sélectionnées par divers magazines, tels que National Geographic, The London Tribune, Condé Nast, More Magazine, Canadian Geographic et In Style.

Philanthrope infatigable, Michelle a fondé le Project North en 2009. Il s’agit d’une organisation à but non lucratif qui vise à offrir des opportunités en matière d’éducation et de sport aux jeunes des régions arctiques du Canada. Depuis sa création, plus de 400 000 $ en équipements de hockey ont été offerts à plus de 14 communautés Nunavut. Michelle a également prouvé ses compétences de dirigeante en assumant des rôles de directrice de plusieurs comités et organisations, notamment Centraide Ottawa, le comité directeur de la Fondation Élisabeth Bruyère, le comité directeur de la fondation communautaire de Telus, le comité directeur de la Fondation du Centre hospitalier pour enfants de l'est de l'Ontario, le comité directeur de l’Algonquin College Foundation, la Fondation du cancer de la région d’Ottawa. Elle fait également partie du comité directeur de la Fondation de bienfaisance du Bureau des services à la jeunesse et est membre de la Société géographique royale du Canada. Dans le cadre de son engagement envers le renforcement de la communauté, Michelle a également travaillé bénévolement, pendant de nombreuses heures, pour le St. Joe’s Women’s Shelter, le Centre hospitalier pour enfants de l’Est de l’Ontario et l’Hôpital d’Ottawa.

En tant que fondatrice de Valberg Imaging, un studio et une galerie photographiques de premier plan en activité depuis plus de 26 ans, elle a reçu au fil des années de nombreuses distinctions et de nombreux prix récompensant son instinct commercial et son engagement envers la communauté, notamment le YMCA/YWCA Women of Distinction Award in the Arts (2000), le prix Ottawa’s Businesswoman of the Year (2003), un prix Ottawa’s Top 40 Under 40 (2004), le prix United Way Ottawa Community Builder, et l’Ordre du Bon Ourson du CHEO. Elle a également été deux fois nominée pour le Prix du premier ministre, nominée au Prix du Premier ministre pour le bénévolat et a remporté divers prix du Canadian Geographic, catégorie Wildlife et, enfin, plus récemment, elle a reçu la médaille de bronze aux Global Arctic Awards.

Engagée à conseiller les entrepreneurs et les photographes, Michelle reste appliquée dans son alma mater, le Collège algonquin, où elle détient la première induction au panthéon de la renommée en matière de photographie, à la School of Media & Design. Elle a également été désignée « Ancienne étudiante de l’année » par le collège en 2005.  

Michelle a autopublié trois livres : Look Beyond... The Faces & Stories of People with HIV/AIDS, Dare to Dream... A Celebration of Canadian Women et, plus récemment, un livre pour enfants ayant pour sujet le Nord canadien et intitulé Ben and Nuki Discover Polar Bears. Son troisième livre, Arctic Kaleidoscope... The People, Wildlife and Ever-Changing Landscape a été commercialisé le Jour de la Terre, le 22 avril 2013.

La beauté simple est une réflexion profonde sur l’humanité. En tant qu’artiste, j’ai passé les 25 dernières années à tenter de capturer cette notion dans mes photographies. C’est un objectif que j’ai poursuivi en conservant la pureté et l’intégrité du sujet, tout en me concentrant sur l’âme et l’esprit, quel que soit le sujet.

Pour découvrir d’autres images de Michelle, rendez-vous sur son site Web, sur www.michellevalberg.com.

Suivez-la sur Twitter.

Cet article est pertinent pour ces produits