AF-S NIKKOR
500mm f/5.6E PF ED VR

Product 20082Write or read ratings and reviews for this product
$4,899.95
default (defaultOption): false
active (available for sale): false
activeForIndividualSale (available for individual sale): true
available(in stock/has available inventory): false
commerceEnabled: false
whereToBuyEnabled (wtb.enabled): true
backorder: false
comingSoon: false
preorderable: false
refurbished: false
archived: false
aRegularProduct (a product with no variants): true
secondaryCtas:
show_add_to_cart: false
(show_add_to_cart = false && ((false && true) || false) )
show_where_to_buy: true
(show_where_to_buy = !false && !false && true)
set_button_state: false
unavailable: false
(unavailable = false && true && !false)
Where To Buy AF-S NIKKOR
500mm f/5.6E PF ED VR
  • A fraction of the size of most full-frame 500mm lenses
  • Specially designed Phase Fresnel (PF) lens element enables a compact design and outstanding optical performance
  • Vibration Reduction (VR) image stabilization for sharper and steadier photos
  • Durable construction with advanced weather sealing, internal focus and Nikon's nonstick Fluorine coating

Product Details

Pack light. Go big.

When photographing birds, wildlife, sports or action, mobility can make the difference between nailing the shot or missing it altogether. The AF-S NIKKOR 500mm f/5.6E PF ED VR is a fraction of the size of most full-frame 500mm lenses, freeing you to be as nimble as your subjects.

Travel light

Nikon’s smallest, lightest full-frame 500mm prime lens ever*—approx. 23.5 cm long and 1.5 kg.

*Among lenses that are not a Catadioptric design (Mirror-Reflex type)

Bring the world in reach

Powerful 500mm focal length (750mm equivalent on DX-format) brings the shots that matter in reach.

Shoot in the moment

Handheld vibrations are tamed by VR image stabilization equivalent to a shutter speed 4.0 stops* faster.

Super-telephoto reimagined

Proprietary Phase Fresnel technology

For nearly two centuries, Fresnel lenses were used in lighthouses to project a strong beam of light. By harnessing the idea in reverse—for gathering light instead of projecting it—Nikon engineers can create lenses that are shorter and lighter, with the same image quality and zoom power of much larger lenses.

Outstanding image quality

When combined with Nikon’s Extra-low Dispersion (ED) glass and other NIKKOR glass elements, the Phase Fresnel element produces high resolution, high contrast images with beautiful background blur.

Fast autofocus

Lighter, more compact optics don’t just benefit your mobility—a lighter focus lens group allows the autofocus system to focus faster, too. With the AF-S NIKKOR 500mm f/5.6E PF ED VR, Nikon’s Silent Wave Motor (SWM) is able to operate at peak performance for fast, quiet autofocus.

Versatile and durable

Additional Features

Use with Your Nikon DSLR or Mirrorless Camera
The AF-S NIKKOR 500mm f/5.6E PF ED VR is also compatible with the new Nikon Z mirrorless camera bodies. To attach it, all you need is the Mount Adapter FTZ and you’re good to go with no loss of image quality. Auto Exposure (AE), autofocus (AF), and in-body VR (Vibration Reduction image stabilization) seamlessly work.
Learn more about the Mount Adapter FTZ
More reach when you need it
When shooting with a DX format DSLR or a full-frame DSLR in DX-Crop Mode, the AF-S NIKKOR 500mm f/5.6E PF ED VR produces a whopping 750mm equivalent angle of view. Add the optional AF-S Teleconverter TC-14E III for 1.4x more reach with only 1-stop loss of light and maintain autofocus.
Near-silent AF with seamless manual override
The Nikon Silent Wave Motor (SWM) powers extremely fast, accurate and quiet autofocus. When manual adjustments are needed, just spin the smooth focus ring.
Internal Focusing
All focusing movements occur within the lens barrel, so the physical length of the lens never changes. You can also focus as close as 9.8 feet with a 0.18x reproduction ratio from your subject to reveal the finest details.
Ready for the field
The AF-S NIKKOR 500mm f/5.6E PF ED VR is extensively weather-sealed and includes a protective front meniscus with Nikon’s Fluorine Coating (FLC), which repels water droplets, dust and grime and easily wipes clean.
Consistent, even exposures
Nikon’s Electromagnetic diaphragm (E) mechanism produces extremely consistent exposures, especially during high-speed shooting...shot after shot after shot.
Stable continuous shooting
When shooting sports or action, select SPORTS MODE VR for a specialized type of image stabilization that produces a more stable viewfinder image during high-speed continuous shooting and panning.
Focus recall
When you can predict where action might occur—say, a basketball hoop, or the corner of the racetrack—save the focus position and then quickly recall it with the press of a button on the lens.    


*Based on CIPA Standard. This value is achieved when: FX-format compatible lenses are attached to an FX-format digital SLR camera.

The lens incorporates an electromagnetic diaphragm mechanism. The following cameras are compatible with this lens:

D5, D4 series, D3 series, Df, D850, D810, D810A, D800 series, D750, D700, D610, D600, D500, D300 series, D7500, D7200, D7100, D7000, D5600, D5500, D5300, D5200, D5100, D5000, D3400, D3300, D3200, D3100, Nikon 1 J1, J2, J3, J4, J5 with FT-1, Nikon 1 V1, V2, V3 with FT-1, Nikon 1 S1, S2 with FT-1

Phase Fresnel

Phase Fresnel

Phase Fresnel (PF) lens elements effectively compensate for chromatic aberration and ghosting when combined with ordinary glass lens elements. The PF lens element is based upon the Phase Fresnel lens, which appears to have a series of concentric circles engraved onto it. Utilizing a Phase Fresnel lens element allows Nikon engineers to use fewer lens elements, resulting in a more compact and lightweight lens. Due to the characteristics of a PF (Phase Fresnel) lens that utilizes the photo diffraction phenomenon, when there is a strong light source within the frame or when light enters the lens from outside of the frame, ring-shaped coloured flare may occur according to shooting conditions. This phenomenon can be minimized with “PF Flare Control” to be included in Capture NX-D (ver.1.1.0 or later). For more information, see software Help/manual. Capture NX-D is available from the Nikon website. Be sure to keep your software up to date.
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass

ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass

An optical glass developed by Nikon that is used with normal optical glass in telephoto lenses to obtain optimum correction of chromatic aberrations.
Nano Crystal Coat

Nano Crystal Coat

An anti-reflective coating developed by Nikon that virtually eliminates internal lens element reflections across a wide range of wavelengths. Nano Crystal Coat solves ghost effects caused by red light and effectively reduces ghost and flare caused by light entering the lens diagonally.
Electromagnetic Diaphragm Mechanism

Electromagnetic Diaphragm Mechanism

An electromagnetic diaphragm mechanism in the lens barrel provides highly accurate electronic diaphragm or aperture blade control when using auto exposure during continuous shooting. With conventional D/G type lenses, the diaphragm blades are operated by mechanical linkage levers.
Vibration Reduction

Vibration Reduction

A Nikon in-lens technology that improves image stability by automatically compensating for camera shake. Lenses that offer VR will feature the abbreviation VR on the lens barrel.
Fluorine Coat

Fluorine Coat

Photographers need gear that can withstand the elements. Nikon’s fluorine coat effectively repels dust, water droplets, grease or dirt, ensuring easy removal even when they adhere to the lens surface. Nikon’s fluorine coat endures a high frequency of lens surface wiping and its anti-reflective effect also contributes to the capture of clear images.
IF Lens

IF Lens

A NIKKOR lens in which only the internal lens group shifts during focusing. Thus, IF NIKKORS do not change in size during AF operation, allowing for compact, lightweight lenses capable of closer focusing distances. These lenses will be designated with the abbreviation IF on the lens barrel.
Silent Wave Motor

Silent Wave Motor

AF-S NIKKOR lenses feature Nikon’s Silent Wave Motor (SWM). This technology converts “traveling waves” into rotational energy to focus the optics. This enables high-speed autofocusing that's extremely accurate and super quiet.
M/A

M/A

Select NIKKOR lenses have a focusing mode which allows switching from automatic to manual focusing with virtually no lag time by simply turning the focusing ring on the lens. This makes it possible to seamlessly switch to fine manual focusing while looking through the viewfinder.
A/M

A/M

A/M stands for Auto-Priority Manual Mode. This mode also enables an easy transition from autofocus to manual during AF operation. However, mode switch sensitivity has been altered to reduce the possibility of sudden unintentional switching to manual focus while shooting.
Super Integrated Coating

Super Integrated Coating

Nikon Super Integrated Coating is Nikon's term for its multilayer coating of the optical elements in NIKKOR lenses.

LCD, Video and Photo Gallery images are for illustrative purposes only.

Tech Specs

Collapse At a Glance

Collapse Camera Lenses

Ratings & Reviews

Support

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers

Voyagez léger. Voyez grand.

Lorsque vous prenez en photo des oiseaux, des animaux sauvages, un événement sportif ou de l’action, la mobilité peut faire toute la différence entre une photo parfaite et une photo ratée. Le AF-S NIKKOR 500mm f/5.6E PF ED VR est bien plus petit que la plupart des objectifs 500mm plein cadre, ce qui vous permet d'être aussi agile que vos sujets.

Voyagez léger

Le plus petit et le plus léger objectif à focale fixe 500mm plein cadre de Nikon* (env. 23,5 cm de long et 1,5 kg)


* Parmi les objectifs qui ne sont pas de conception catadioptrique (de type à miroir reflex)

Mettez le monde à votre portée

Les photos importantes sont à votre portée grâce à son impressionnante longueur focale de 500 mm (l’équivalent de 750 mm au format DX).

Capturez l'instant

La stabilisation d’image VR équivalente à une vitesse d’obturation de quatre* niveaux supplémentaires maîtrise les vibrations lorsque vous avez l’appareil en main.

Super téléobjectif réinventé

Technologie de phase de Fresnel unique

Pendant près de deux siècles, les lentilles de Fresnel ont été utilisées dans les phares pour projeter un faisceau de lumière intense. En reprenant l’idée dans l’autre sens (pour capter la lumière au lieu de la projeter), les ingénieurs de Nikon peuvent créer des lentilles plus petites et plus légères, dotées de la même qualité d’image et puissance de zoom que des lentilles bien plus grandes.

Une qualité d’image exceptionnelle

Associé au verre à dispersion extra-faible (ED) de Nikon et à d’autres éléments en verre NIKKOR, l’élément de phase de Fresnel permet de prendre des photos en haute résolution et à fort contraste avec un magnifique fond flouté.

Autofocus rapide

Des optiques plus légers et compacts ne font pas seulement qu'accroître votre mobilité; un groupe de lentilles de mise au point plus léger permet également au système d'autofocus de faire la mise au point plus rapidement. Avec l'objectif AF-S NIKKOR 500mm f/5.6E PF ED VR, le moteur SWM (Silent Wave Motor) Nikon est en mesure d'offrir une performance optimale pour un autofocus rapide et silencieux.

Polyvalent et résistant

À utiliser avec votre appareil photo reflex numérique ou sans miroir Nikon  
L’objectif AF-S NIKKOR 500mm f/5.6E PF ED VR est également compatible avec les boîtiers des nouveaux appareils photo sans miroir Nikon Z. Tout ce qu’il vous faut pour le fixer, c’est l’adaptateur FTZ et vous serez prêt à passer à l’action sans perte de qualité d’image. L’exposition automatique (AE), l’autofocus (AF) et la stabilisation d'image par réduction de vibration (VR) fonctionnent parfaitement ensemble.
En savoir plus sur l’adaptateur de monture FTZ

Prêt à l’emploi
Le AF-S NIKKOR 500mm f/5.6E PF ED VR résiste parfaitement aux intempéries et comprend un ménisque avant de protection avec un revêtement en fluorine (FLC) Nikon, qui repousse les gouttes d’eau, la poussière, les saletés et s’essuie facilement.

Davantage de portée lorsque vous en avez besoin
Lorsque vous prenez des photos avec un reflex numérique au format DX ou avec un reflex numérique plein cadre en mode recadrage DX, le AF-S NIKKOR 500mm f/5.6E PF ED VR permet d’obtenir un incroyable angle de vue équivalant à 750 mm. Ajoutez le téléconvertisseur AF-S TC-14E III en option pour 1,4 fois plus de portée en ne perdant qu’un seul niveau d’indice de luminosité et en conservant l’autofocus.

Expositions uniformes et homogènes
Le diaphragme électromagnétique de Nikon permet d’obtenir image après image une exposition homogène lors de prises de vue en rafale.

AF pratiquement silencieux avec neutralisation manuelle en toute facilité
Le moteur SWM (Silent Wave Motor) Nikon permet un autofocus extrêmement rapide, précis et silencieux. Si vous avez besoin de faire des réglages manuels, vous n’avez qu’à faire tourner la bague de mise au point sensible.

Prise de vue en continu stable
Sélectionnez « SPORTS MODE VR » (mode Sport VR) lorsque vous prenez des photos de sport ou d’action pour obtenir une stabilisation pour un type particulier d’image rendant cette dernière plus stable dans le viseur pendant une prise de vue haute vitesse continue et la prise de panoramiques.

Mise au point interne
Tous les mouvements de mise au point s’effectuent au niveau du barillet de l’objectif, de telle sorte que la longueur physique de ce dernier ne change jamais. Vous pouvez même faire une mise au point rapprochée jusqu’à 3 mètres de votre sujet avec un rapport de reproduction de 0,18 pour révéler tous les détails.

Rappel de mise au point
Lorsque vous savez à l’avance où l’action est susceptible de se produire,dans un panier de basket par exemple, ou encore le virage d’un circuit,—enregistrez la position de mise au point puis rappelez-la rapidement en appuyant sur l’un des boutons de l’objectif.    


Technologie

  • Phase Fresnel

    Phase Fresnel

    Les éléments d’objectif Phase Fresnel (PF) compensent efficacement l’aberration chromatique et les images fantômes lorsqu’ils sont associés à des lentilles d’objectifs ordinaires. L’élément d’objectif PF repose sur la lentille à phase Fresnel, sur laquelle une série de cercles concentriques est gravée. L’utilisation d’un élément d’objectif à phase Fresnel permet aux ingénieurs de Nikon de réduire le nombre d’éléments d’objectif utilisés pour créer une optique plus compacte et légère. En raison des caractéristiques d’une lentille de Fresnel (PF) qui fait appel au phénomène de la diffraction, lorsqu’il y a une intense source de lumière dans le cadre ou lorsque de la lumière entre dans la lentille depuis l’extérieur du cadre, un anneau de lumière parasite de couleur pourrait apparaître dans certaines conditions de prise de vue. Ce phénomène peut être atténué avec le « contrôle PF de lumière parasite » qui sera intégré au Capture NX-D (ver. 1.1.0 ou ultérieure). Pour plus d’information, veuillez consulter la rubrique d’aide du logiciel ou le guide. Vous trouverez le logiciel de traitement Capture NX-D sur le site Web de Nikon. N’oubliez pas de mettre votre logiciel à jour.
  • Verre ED (à dispersion extra faible)

    Verre ED (à dispersion extra faible)

    Un verre optique développé par Nikon et utilisé avec du verre optique normal sur les téléobjectifs, afin d’obtenir une correction optimale des aberrations chromatiques.
  • Traitement nanocristal

    Traitement nanocristal

    Revêtement antireflet développé par Nikon, permettant d’éliminer pratiquement tous les reflets sur les éléments internes de l’objectif, sur une très large plage de longueurs d’onde.
  • Mécanisme de diaphragme électromagnétique

    Mécanisme de diaphragme électromagnétique

    Un mécanisme de diaphragme électromagnétique situé dans le barillet de l’objectif permet d’obtenir une extrême précision pour le contrôle électronique du diaphragme ou des lamelles d’ouverture lors de l’utilisation de l’exposition automatique dans une prise de vue continue. Sur les objectifs conventionnels de type D/G, les lamelles du diaphragme sont activées par des leviers de tringlerie mécanique.
  • Réduction de vibrations

    Réduction de vibrations

    Une technologie intégrée de Nikon destinée à améliorer la stabilité de l’image par compensation automatique des tremblements de l’appareil. Les objectifs dotés du système VR affichent l’abréviation VR sur leur canon.
  • Revêtement en fluorine

    Revêtement en fluorine

    Les photographes ont besoin d'un équipement en mesure de résister aux éléments. Le revêtement en fluorine de Nikon repousse efficacement la poussière, les gouttelettes d'eau, la graisse ou la saleté, assurant un retrait facile même lorsqu'elles adhèrent à la surface de l'objectif. Le revêtement en fluorine de Nikon résiste à l'essuyage fréquent de la surface de l'objectif et son effet antireflet rend également les photos plus nettes.
  • Objectif IF

    Objectif IF

    Un objectif NIKKOR doté d'un système interne de mise au point : Seuls les groupes de lentilles se déplacent sans allonger l'objectif. Ce type d’objectifs est désigné par l’abréviation IF située sur le canon.
  • Moteur SWM (Silent Wave Motor)

    Moteur SWM (Silent Wave Motor)

    Les objectifs NIKKOR AF-S sont dotés du moteur SWM (Silent Wave Motor) de Nikon. Cette technologie convertit les « ondes progressives » en énergie rotationnelle pour la mise au point de l’optique. Cela se traduit par une mise au point automatique à grande vitesse qui est extrêmement précise et remarquablement silencieuse.
  • M/A

    M/A

    Certains objectifs NIKKOR sont dotés d’un mode de mise au point permettant de passer d’une mise au point automatique à manuelle pratiquement sans décalage, en tournant simplement la bague de mise au point de l’objectif.
  • Mode A/M (autofocus à priorité manuelle)

    Mode A/M (autofocus à priorité manuelle)

    Ce mode permet également de passer aisément du mode autofocus au mode manuel pendant l’utilisation de l'autofocus. Toutefois, la sensibilité du basculement d’un mode à l’autre a été modifiée de façon à réduire tout risque de passage accidental au mode de mise au point manuelle pendant de vue.
  • Traitement super intégré

    Traitement super intégré

    Le traitement super intégré de Nikon est le terme employé par Nikon pour désigner le traitement multicouche des éléments optiques contenus dans les objectifs NIKKOR.

*Selon la norme CIPA. Cette valeur est atteinte lorsque : Les objectifs compatibles au format FX sont montés sur un reflex numérique au format FX.

L'objectif comprend un mécanisme à diaphragme électromagnétique. Les appareils photo suivants sont compatibles avec cet objectif :

D5, série D4, série D3, Df, D850, D810, D810A, série D800, D750, D700, D610, D600, D500, série D300, D7500, D7200, D7100, D7000, D5600, D5500, D5300, D5200, D5100, D5000, D3400, D3300, D3200, D3100, Nikon 1 J1, J2, J3, J4, J5 avec FT-1, Nikon 1 V1, V2, V3 avec FT-1, Nikon 1 S1, S2 avec FT-1

Les images des écrans ACL et de la galerie vidéo et photo sont fournies à titre illustratif uniquement.