Nikon Americas Nikon Canada Inc.

Nikon Canada Inc. Privacy Policy

Privacy Policy
At Nikon Canada Inc. ("Nikon") we are committed to protecting your privacy. The purpose of this Privacy Policy is to inform you about Nikon's practices relating to the collection, use and disclosure of personal information that you may provide to us during your use of our website located at www.nikon.ca.

Personal Information
For the purpose of this Privacy Policy, "personal information" means information about an identifiable individual, but does not include the name, title or business address or telephone number of an employee of an organization.

What Personal Information We Collect and How We Use It
When you submit a "Literature Request" form to receive information concerning products listed on our website, submit an "Information Request" form to receive corporate or other general information about Nikon and our products, create an account in order to ask a question through our Customer Support Centre, or participate in a contest or sweepstake promotion offered through our website, we may request that you provide specific information about yourself.

When you submit your request, create a customer support account, or enter a Nikon contest, you must give us your contact information (such as your name, company name, e-mail address and mailing address, fax number and telephone number) so that we may respond to your request or question or administer the contest, as the case may be. When you provide your contact information, we may also ask you to provide optional information such as demographic information (i.e., postal code and age) and profile information (i.e., education, photography experience and occupation) and, if you choose to provide this information, we may use such information for the purposes disclosed to you at the time we collect such information. It is not necessary to provide this optional information to receive a response or to enter a Nikon contest.

At the time you provide your personal information, you may also be given the opportunity to opt-in to receiving updates and notifications regarding Nikon's special promotions, new product applications or services and other information that may be of interest to you. If you authorize us to send you promotional materials, we may do so using either the e-mail or the mailing address you provide. If you opt-in to receiving our updates and notifications and later decide you would rather not receive this information, please contact us through one of the channels identified below in the "Access" section of this policy.

When you provide us with Personal Information, you are authorizing us to use that information in accordance with the purpose(s) for which it was provided and in accordance with the terms of this Privacy Policy. Nikon uses your personal information for the following purposes:

  • to fulfil your literature request;
  • to fulfil your information request;
  • to respond to your customer support question;
  • to administer Nikon contests and promotions;
  • to develop and maintain our relationship with you and to communicate with you;
  • to satisfy Nikon's legitimate business interests (for example, conducting market studies and trend analysis and generating aggregate data and reports which record customer behaviour as a whole).
Questions and answers developed through the Customer Support Centre may also be added to the customer support database for future reference by other customers of Nikon Canada. However, any personal information relating to your questions and answers will be removed such that the information contained in the database is limited to non-identifiable information.

When We Disclose Your Personal Information
Except as set forth in this Privacy Policy or with your consent, we will not sell, share, license, trade or rent your personal information to any organization or individual.

Nikon may disclose your personal information to third parties engaged to assist us in providing services to you or to carry out one or more of the purposes described above. For example, we may disclose your personal information to a third party for the limited purpose of assisting us with the administration of a contest promotion.

Nikon reserves the right to co-operate fully with local, provincial and federal officials in any investigation relating to any personal information (including private electronic communications transmitted on any Nikon website) or any purported unlawful activities.

Nikon reserves the right to disclose and/or transfer personal information to a third party in the event of a proposed or actual sale, merger or other transfer of the assets or shares of Nikon or a division thereof, provided that the third party agrees to adhere to the principles expressed in this Privacy Policy and the information does not constitute all or substantially all of the assets being transferred.

Knowledge and Consent
Nikon collects personal information about our customers only when our customers voluntarily provide it.

When personal information is provided to us, we use that information solely for the purpose(s) for which it was provided.

The form of consent provided by an individual, including whether it is express or implied, will largely depend on the sensitivity of the personal information and the reasonable expectations of the individual in the circumstances.

You may withdraw consent at any time, subject to legal or contractual restrictions and reasonable notice. If you wish to withdraw your consent, please contact Nikon via the contact details provided in the "Access" section below. Nikon will inform you of the implications of withdrawing consent.

Other Information We May Collect
In addition to your personal information, we may also collect non-identifiable information passively using "cookies" and other web-tracking technologies.

A cookie is a small file containing information that a website creates when you visit it. A cookie can track how and when you use a website and can store that information. Nikon tracks your visits within our website using server-side session management technology, which replaces the use of client-side cookies (the technology used on most websites) and provides visitors with the added benefit of not having information written to or read from their machines via traditional cookies. Nikon uses the information it collects to determine the type of information that you are looking for on our website and to improve our website. Nikon uses information about the site you visited immediately prior to our site to assess the viability of links to our site that we have created on third party sites.

In addition to server - side session management technology, Nikon uses the following:

  • Visitor website IP addresses are used anonymously to gather broad demographic information and to help diagnose problems with Nikon's server and to administer our website.
  • "Path-tracking" information, such as "pages loaded", is recorded anonymously to provide data pertaining to general popularity of website areas.
How We Protect Your Personal Information
Nikon makes all commercially reasonable efforts to ensure that personal information collected from you is protected against loss and unauthorized access. Personal information is collected and stored in a secure manner supervised by Nikon. Access to your personal information is restricted to selected Nikon employees or representatives. In addition, Nikon employs generally accepted information security techniques, such as firewalls, access control procedures and cryptography, to protect personal information against loss and unauthorized access.

Retention of Your Personal Information
Nikon retains your personal information for as long as necessary to fulfil the purpose(s) for which it was collected and to comply with applicable laws. In the case of personal information collected through the Customer Support Centre, Nikon retains such information for future reference by both Nikon and yourself.

Links to Third Party Sites
This website may offer links to other websites. You should be aware that operators of linked websites may also collect your personal information (including information generated through the use of cookies) when you link to their websites. Nikon is not responsible for how such third parties collect, use or disclose your personal information, so it is important to familiarize yourself with their privacy policies before providing them with your personal information.

Changes to this Privacy Policy
Nikon reserves the right to modify this Privacy Policy at anytime without notice. The Privacy Policy posted at any time or from time to time via this website shall be deemed to be the Privacy Policy then in effect.

Access
You can contact our Privacy Officer (see below) to request access to or correction or update of your personal information or to remove yourself from our mailing list.

Contacting Us
In the event that you have any questions about Nikon's Privacy Policy or if you have reason to believe that Nikon may have failed to adhere to this Privacy Policy, you may contact us at:
Privacy Officer
Nikon Canada Inc.
1366 Aerowood Drive
Mississauga, Ontario
L4W 1C1
Canada

You may also contact the Privacy Officer via our information request contact form which can be found here: Nikon Information Form.

Attention:
Please note that any comments, suggestions or materials provided to Nikon shall be deemed to be of a non-confidential and non-proprietary nature (becoming the property of Nikon upon Nikon's receipt of same) and Nikon shall be entitled to use and distribute such comments, suggestions or materials to any other parties and for any other purposes, including, but not limited to, developing and marketing products and/or services incorporating or based on any such comments, suggestions or materials.

Nikon Amériques Nikon Canada Inc.

Politique de confidentialité de Nikon Canada Inc.

Politique de confidentialité
Chez Nikon Canada Inc. (« Nikon ») nous nous engageons à protéger votre vie privée. L’objectif de cette politique de confidentialité est de vous renseigner sur les pratiques de Nikon en matière de collecte, d’utilisation et de divulgation des renseignements personnels que vous pouvez nous fournir lorsque vous consultez notre site Web www.nikon.ca.

Renseignements personnels
Pour les besoins de cette politique de confidentialité, l’expression « renseignements personnels » désigne les renseignements se rapportant à une personne identifiable, à l’exclusion du nom, du titre, de l’adresse ou du numéro de téléphone professionnels d’un employé d’une organisation.

Les renseignements personnels que nous collectons et l’usage que nous en faisons
Lorsque vous soumettez un formulaire de « demande de documentation » pour recevoir des renseignements sur les produits figurant dans notre site Web, que vous soumettez une « demande de renseignements » pour recevoir des informations sur notre société ou d’autres renseignements d’ordre général sur Nikon et sur nos produits, que vous ouvrez un compte afin de poser une question à notre Centre de service à la clientèle ou que vous participez à un concours ou à une promotion via notre site Web, nous pouvons vous demander des renseignements précis vous concernant.

Lorsque vous soumettez votre demande, que vous ouvrez un compte de service à la clientèle ou que vous vous inscrivez à un concours Nikon, vous devez nous communiquer vos coordonnées (comme votre nom, le nom de votre entreprise, votre adresse électronique et votre adresse postale, votre numéro de télécopie et votre numéro de téléphone) afin que nous puissions répondre à votre demande ou à votre question ou administrer le concours, selon le cas. Lorsque vous nous communiquez vos coordonnées, nous pouvons aussi vous demander des renseignements facultatifs comme des éléments de type démographique (par exemple votre code postal et votre âge) et relatifs à votre profil (par exemple votre niveau d’études, votre expérience en photographie et votre profession) et, si vous choisissez de nous communiquer ces renseignements, nous pouvons les utiliser aux fins que nous vous indiquons au moment où nous les collectons. Il n’est pas nécessaire de fournir ces renseignements facultatifs pour recevoir une réponse ou pour s’inscrire à un concours Nikon.

Au moment où vous nous communiquez vos renseignements personnels, nous vous offrirons peut-être aussi la possibilité de recevoir des mises à jour et des notifications sur les promotions spéciales, les nouveaux produits, les nouvelles applications ou les nouveaux services Nikon ainsi que d’autres éléments d’information susceptibles de vous intéresser. Si vous nous autorisez à vous envoyer du matériel promotionnel, nous l’enverrons à l’adresse électronique ou à l’adresse postale que vous nous fournissez. Si vous avez choisi de recevoir nos mises à jour et nos notifications et que vous désirez vous désinscrire, veuillez communiquer avec nous en utilisant l’un des moyens indiqués ci-dessous à la section « Accès » de cette politique.

Lorsque vous nous communiquez des renseignements personnels, vous nous autorisez à les utiliser conformément aux fins pour lesquelles vous les avez transmis et en accord avec les conditions de cette politique. Nikon utilise vos renseignements personnels aux fins suivantes :

  • pour vous faire parvenir la documentation demandée;
  • pour vous faire parvenir les renseignements demandés;
  • pour répondre aux questions posées au service clientèle;
  • pour administrer les concours et promotions Nikon;
  • pour développer et entretenir nos relations avec vous et pour communiquer avec vous;
  • pour satisfaire les intérêts commerciaux légitimes de Nikon (par exemple pour réaliser des études de marché et des analyses de tendances mais aussi pour produire des données et des rapports d’ensemble sur le comportement des clients en général).
Les questions posées au Centre de service à la clientèle et les réponses données peuvent également être ajoutées à la base de données d’assistance à la clientèle à titre de référence future pour les autres clients de Nikon Canada. Cependant, tout renseignement personnel lié à vos questions et aux réponses sera supprimé de façon à limiter le contenu de la base de données à des éléments d’information non identifiables.

Quand nous divulguons vos renseignements personnels
Nous ne vendons, ne partageons, ne cédons sous licence, ne commercialisons ni ne louons vos renseignements personnels à aucune organisation ou individu, excepté de la façon indiquée dans cette politique de confidentialité ou avec votre consentement.

Nikon peut divulguer vos renseignements personnels à des tiers engagés pour nous aider à vous fournir des services ou aux fins énoncées ci-dessus. Par exemple, nous pouvons divulguer vos renseignements personnels à un tiers dans l’unique but de nous aider à administrer un concours promotionnel.

Nikon se réserve le droit de collaborer entièrement avec les autorités locales, provinciales et fédérales dans le cadre de toute enquête portant sur des renseignements personnels (y compris des communications électroniques privées transmises sur tout site Web de Nikon) ou sur toute activité illégale présumée.

Nikon se réserve le droit de divulguer et/ou de transférer des renseignements personnels à un tiers dans l’éventualité d’une vente, d’une fusion ou de toute autre cession d’actif ou d’actions de Nikon ou d’une de ses divisions, proposées ou réelles, à condition que ce tiers accepte de se conformer à la présente politique de confidentialité et que les renseignements ne constituent pas la totalité ou une part importante de l’actif cédé.

Consentement éclairé
Nikon collecte des renseignements personnels sur ses clients uniquement si lesdits clients les fournissent de manière volontaire.

Lorsque vous nous communiquez des renseignements personnels, nous les utilisons uniquement aux fins pour lesquelles ils ont été fournis.

La forme que revêt le consentement d’un individu, qu’il soit exprès ou implicite, dépend beaucoup de la sensibilité des renseignements personnels et des attentes raisonnables de l’individu au vu des circonstances.

Vous pouvez retirer votre consentement à tout moment, sous réserve de toute restriction légale ou contractuelle et d’une notification raisonnable. Si vous souhaitez retirer votre consentement, veuillez communiquer avec Nikon via les coordonnées fournies à la section « Accès » ci-dessous. Nikon vous informera des conséquences relatives au retrait de votre consentement.

Autres renseignements que nous pouvons collecter
En plus de vos renseignements personnels, nous pouvons recueillir des éléments d’information non identifiables de façon passive en faisant appel à des « cookies » et à d’autres technologies de suivi sur le Web.

Un cookie est un petit fichier contenant des renseignements qu’un site Web crée quand vous le consultez. Un cookie peut repérer comment et quand vous utilisez un site Web et stocker ces renseignements. Nikon effectue un suivi de vos visites de son site Web grâce à la technologie de gestion de session côté serveur qui remplace l’utilisation des cookies côté client (utilisés sur la plupart des sites) et offre aux visiteurs l’avantage de n’avoir dans leur ordinateur aucun renseignement qui serait lisible par un cookie traditionnel. Nikon utilise les éléments d’information collectés pour déterminer le type de renseignements que vous recherchez sur son site et pour l’améliorer. Nikon utilise les renseignements relatifs au site que vous avez consulté immédiatement avant le sien afin d’évaluer la viabilité des liens vers son site qui figurent sur des sites tiers.

En plus de la technologie de gestion de session côté serveur, Nikon utilise les technologies suivantes :
  • utilisation anonyme des adresses IP du site du visiteur afin de rassembler des renseignements démographiques d’ordre général, de diagnostiquer les problèmes du serveur de Nikon et d’administrer son site Web.
  • enregistrement anonyme du « suivi de cheminement », comme les « pages téléchargées », afin de collecter des données relatives à la popularité générale des sections du site.
Comment nous protégeons vos renseignements personnels
Nikon déploie tous les efforts commercialement raisonnables pour s’assurer que les renseignements personnels que vous nous avez communiqués sont protégés contre la perte et l’accès non autorisé. Les renseignements personnels sont collectés et conservés de façon sécurisée sous la supervision de Nikon L’accès à vos renseignements personnels est réservé à certains employés ou représentants de Nikon. De plus, Nikon emploie des techniques de sécurité de l’information généralement reconnues, comme des pare-feu, des procédures de contrôle d’accès et la cryptographie, afin de protéger les renseignements personnels contre la perte et l’accès non autorisé.

Conservation de vos renseignements personnels
Nikon conserve vos renseignements personnels aussi longtemps que nécessaire pour satisfaire aux exigences pour lesquelles ils ont été collectés et pour se conformer aux lois applicables. Dans le cas des renseignements personnels collectés via le Centre de service à la clientèle, Nikon les conserve aux fins de référence future tant pour Nikon que pour vous-même.

Liens vers des sites tiers
Ce site peut contenir des liens menant à d’autres sites Web. Vous devez savoir que les opérateurs de ces sites liés peuvent également collecter vos renseignements personnels (y compris des renseignements générés par l’utilisation de cookies) lorsque vous les consultez. Nikon n’est pas responsable de la manière dont ces tiers collectent, utilisent ou divulguent vos renseignements personnels. Il est donc important de vous familiariser avec leurs politiques de confidentialité avant de leur fournir vos renseignements personnels.

Modification de la présente politique de confidentialité
Nikon se réserve le droit de modifier cette politique de confidentialité à tout moment, sans préavis. La politique de confidentialité affichée en permanence ou de temps en temps sur ce site Web est réputée être la politique de confidentialité alors en vigueur.

Accès
Vous pouvez communiquer avec notre Responsable de la protection de la vie privée (voir ci-dessous) pour demander l’accès à vos renseignements personnels, leur correction ou leur mise à jour ou pour supprimer votre nom de notre liste d’envoi.

Communiquer avec nous
Si vous avez des questions au sujet de la politique de confidentialité de Nikon ou si vous pensez que Nikon peut ne pas l’avoir respectée, vous pouvez communiquer avec nous à l’adresse suivante :
Responsable de la protection de la vie privée
Nikon Canada Inc.
1366 Aerowood Drive
Mississauga, Ontario
L4W 1C1
Canada

Vous pouvez également communiquer avec le Responsable de la protection de la vie privée via notre formulaire de demande de renseignements que vous pourrez trouver ici : Formulaire de demande de renseignements Nikon

Avertissement :
Veuillez noter que tout commentaire, toute suggestion ou tout matériel transmis à Nikon est présumé être de nature non confidentielle et non exclusive (et devient la propriété de Nikon dès sa réception par cette dernière) et que Nikon est autorisée à utiliser et à distribuer ces commentaires, ces suggestions ou ce matériel à d’autres tiers quels qu’ils soient, à toutes autres fins, y compris mais sans s’y limiter, le développement et la commercialisation de produits et/ou de services incorporant ces commentaires, ces suggestions ou ce matériel ou se basant sur ceux-ci.